top of page

SUNDAYS ARE FOR THE BOYS

The ending days and weeks are coming near, and boy do I feel like i'm going to burst any minute! What a crazy, wild, and wonderful pregnancy it has been thus far. So many unexpected, and expected, emotions ranging from happy to sad. The joys of communicating with Kayden from the outside world to the frustration of untucked bed sheets. So on that note, thank you to all my friends and family for tolerating me on my bad days. You are all the real MVPs :)

I've learned a couple things the past nine months here and there, both personally about myself and about how to accept that life does not run as smooth as it does in the movies. Take a moment to sigh, yes it is true, life is unexpected. So instead of rambling on and on in this blog on those things I have accumulated a list of personal testimonies in the different parts of my life and my pregnancy journey.

1ST TRIMESTER FEELS

1. LIFE

Life is a beautiful thing, so whether or not your baby is/was planned, remind yourself that you are Wonder Woman! So many women out in the world do not get the opportunity to carry life themselves, so with wonder women like you and I - we can be the ones to make an difference and provide to those women incapable. Side note: coming from a backstory involving adoption and giving life a second chance, I thank my birth mom up in heaven for bringing me into this world and giving my parents the daughter they were wanting.

2. YOUR BODY

As cute as it is wanting to show off the "adorable pregnancy bump" please enjoy being able to wear your regular pants and clothes while you can. Don't think just because you don't quite look pregnant with a watermelon strapped to your belly - that you can't flaunt how amazing you are. People won't look at you and know your pregnant, unless you're rocking that glow early! But with great time your baby will continue working to grow into a strong beautiful baby. So wear what you want, when you can. You'll miss it :)

3. GOOGLE

For the love of God, do not self diagnose. What I would suggest that worked for me was to simply do your research, and when I say that I mean be the good pupil you are and research from accredited sources. If you are ever unsure simply call and ask your doctor or the First Nurse. I definitely became good friends with the friendly women from the First Nurse line. Your body knows what it is doing and how to respond if anything foreign is in your body! It is okay to obsess with what fruit your baby compares to or how active they are in the womb, they make friendly phone apps that update you weekly.

2ND TRIMESTER VIBES

1. HONEY MOON PHASE

I absolutely loved the 2nd trimester! I had normally energy back, was seeing my cute little bump appearing, and was starting to gawk over the tiny baby clothes in the stores. They say that once you're in the 2nd trimester majority of your 1st trimester symptoms and annoyances subside. Luckily I was blessed with an easy pregnancy and didn't change much. I really only had terrible migraines and felt so sluggish all the time. But like I said, I felt great and those things cleared up! So there is hope and soak it all in while you can.

2. CRAVINGS

I didn't have wild cravings the first trimester, no pickles and icecream like the movies. But I do love pickles and I do love icecream! Just not together :) The one craving I did have were pancakes. When I say that I can promise you I was not lying, pancakes for breakfast - lunch - dinner. ON REPEAT. Pancakes and sweets were my go to and I really hope I can wheen off them after Kayden comes.

3. YOUR BODY

Is changing and doing miraculous things right under your nose, unless you develop rhinitis during pregnancy like I did. For those of you that don't know what that is, in short terms its like the common cold that never goes away. Thats right, no amount of vitamin C or theraflu can get rid of this temporary nuisance. You may feel your first encounter to round-ligament pains that bring back terrible memories growing up of growing pains in all your joints. BUT! You also get to have two ultrasounds, one generally around 12 weeks to see your baby for the first time and one around 16-18 weeks to find out the gender of your beautiful baby. Seeing their little bodies and how detailed they are becoming is so rewarding as a mother, that the oh so nutritious meals you've been eating and the fluids and rest you've been feeding your body so that it can work hard in nurturing your baby's growth - is even capable!

3RD TRIMESTER BLUES

1. IS THAT A CROP TOP?

No, no this is not a crop top. This was once a comfy and casual t-shirt I once could wear with cute blue jeans and not have my protruding belly button almost touch you from a foot away. This is it ladies! The excitement you've all been waiting for (besides birth) - the adorable bump phase. You are now rocking either maternity leggings you found on sale at Walmart or the extra long tank tops you've searched months for that are both long enough and not $30. I will shamelessly admit I did try on some of my old crop tops just for giggles and it was fantastic. Keeping those hung up in my closet, I did find joy in going shopping for some new fun dresses and clothes to wear. With the ooo's and awe's I found some great summer dresses that I could wear after baby too! Thank you to whoever invented maxi dresses.

2. STRETCH MARKS OR BEAUTY MARKS?

No matter who you are, stretch marks are hereditary. There are ways to reduce severity of them, such as retaining plenty of fluids and keeping your skin moisturized to better the elasticity of your skin. I didn't get more than 3 or 4 tiny stretch marks throughout my pregnancy, thanks mom, but I do have stretch marks on my body from before baby! They are completely natural and everyone has them in some way or another. The day I found the 3 on my belly button I was instantly saddened, thinking oh these are going to be so unflattering after I have Kayden. But then I sat and told myself, don't get caught up in the hype from celebrities you see with photoshopped maternity pictures without a single stretch mark. These marks on our body are evidence that we carried real life for over 9 months! If anything, flaunt them girls cause dang they just make a woman look even more beautiful being real with themselves and to others.

3. MOVEMENT / IM READY

By this point you'll experience the first fetal movement in your late 20's weeks, jabbing and kicking as you near 30 weeks, and the dreadful leg stuck in the rib almost week 40. Feeling your baby move is something unexplainable and wonderful at the same time. I'm going to miss the days where I lay and watch him poke his little butt out just to let me know he is here or rolling around to get comfortable just as I am tossing and turning during bedtime. Being shy for the camera and not moving then dancing and showing off to friends and family that have never seen or felt a baby bump. These moments are all so great and I know as I come near to my due date that I am going to miss these little things. That speaking to other mothers in public and goo-ing over how great pregnancy is, makes it feel like I am apart of some networking / book reading / knitting club.

CONCLUDING THOUGHTS : As I transition from the 3rd trimester to real life mom days, the last thing I can say or give advice to all you readers - is when you go through this crazy journey, please do not forget to remind yourself how badass and lucky you are to be creating a human. That your baby is going to be apart of your life forever and they couldn't have been brought into this world without you. Not every day is going to be a fairytale or go as planned and that is okay. Be confident in every choice you make from Day 1 to the day you deliver your child, and every day after that. As a parent we develop these skills and learn from those that raised us, on how to make the right choices for us and our babies. People will tell you how to do this or that, but take it with a grain of salt and say you truly appreciate what they have to say.

Kayden will hopefully be here within the next two weeks as my due date comes near, so I just want to say another thank you to everyone that has been a crutch through this time in my life. Classmates and professors for still pushing me in school to work hard and that being a student while being pregnant is NOT impossible. Family for reminding me to rest and that Kayden has so many people anxiously awaiting his arrival, little man you've got family from both sides that will always love you. Friends for supporting my candy cravings and for reminding me to see things for as they are without sugar coating the truth.

[ To never lose who you are as a person and that no matter what obstacle comes your way - that you are strong and CAN do it. ]

Now that the "not so long" post is done and i've said my thank you's - KAYDEN CAN YOU GET HERE ALREADY?!

Also please enjoy this spicy photo from last Sunday where Kayden and I relaxed in the sun with good company and oreos.

bottom of page