top of page

EATING FOR TWO, NOT NECESSARILY TRUE!

Let me start off by saying I thoroughly enjoy food, but then again who doesn’t?

People love to ask the question; have you had any crazy cravings? The answer is yes and no, yes because in the first trimester I was always wanting candy. Lots of candy and anything sweet or sour. I had read that sucking on Jollyrancher candies helps with nausea, now I never had much nausea during the first trimester unless it came with the migraines I would get nearly every day. So I insisted on staying fully stocked on candies just incase! :) Other than candy I would occasionally crave a specific type of food and would want it right that second, but immediately after eating it I would not want to eat it for a good two months later.

When the symptoms really started kicking in I noticed that I would seem to get full very very fast. If you ready my past blog you’d remember that eating at the normal pace I would have before becoming pregnant, gave me terrible heartburn. The portion sizes eventually decreased dramatically but i’d be starving an hour later. I was thinking, why is this so hard and why do I find myself eating all hours of the day?!

Well, here are some scientific reasonings and explanations courtesy of webbed.com.

“You’re eating for two, it is ok to continue stuffing your face with the absurd amount of food.”

The average woman at a steady healthy weight needs only about 300 extra calories per day to promote baby growth. To give you a visual, this is about a glass of skim milk and half a sandwich. (If only I liked milk!)

A woman at a healthy weight on average should gain between 25 to 35 pounds during pregnancy. (At my last appointment my weight showed I had gained 10 pounds at about 20 weeks, yikes!)

Putting on too much weight increases risk of gestational diabetes, backaches, high blood pressure, and chances of needing a cesarean birth.

So at the end of the day- know when to put the fork down or the bag of fatty chips, and replace them with plenty of water and smaller portioned foods!

Before you tell your next pregnant friend that they’re eating for two, help remind them that having between 4 to 5 small portioned meals will help lead to a healthy pregnancy :)


bottom of page