top of page

THE REVEAL

Since finding out in November about the life changing event that was about to occur, I have experienced a tremendous amount of emotions. Shock, excitement, worry, anxiousness, happiness, sadness. Following week by week on how the life I was growing was changing every day, looking forward to reading facts and milestones throughout the first trimester. Wondering if everything was alright and making sure I was doing my job of staying healthy and resting plenty.

Back in December I was able to have an ultrasound done once my midwife revealed that I was a week further along than I had expected! I initially asked if I could get one done since the father was not able to attend the appointment, unfortunately ultrasounds are not just done for fun and they kindly declined my request due to not being far enough in the pregnancy. Until I received the good news, my midwife ordered the ultrasound with a big smile and briefly explained how she had suspected being further along.

For my prenatal appointment that following month it was just a check up to see how my vitals were and all the fun things that come along with monthly visits. After receiving confirmation that everything was going great and both the father and I were able to hear our son’s heartbeat with the doppler, we were on our way. Simple as that! My midwife explained that my next visit will consist of an hour long ultrasound where the technician will do a full anatomy scan and we will be able to find out the gender if we wanted. The father and I had spoke about waiting until we found out the gender to announce to the public about the little guy. I truly thought that I was going to have a girl, after reading the old wives tales and symptoms of each gender - I was convinced it had to be a girl.

Surprise mom and dad! Arriving at the medical arts building with a full and ready bladder for the ultrasound, I had no idea how much the little guy had grown over the past two months since last seeing him. Getting into the ultrasound room I sat in preparation as the technician squeezed the warm gel onto my little bump. I laid in mesmerization at how developed and detailed his spine, fingers, and toes have become. Exploring around my belly all while the technician was checking every inch of his body, I could not help but sit in awe at how truly amazing this experience is. In these mere moments I finally was understanding what other mothers have said about how wonderful it is to have the capability to create and protect life during these nine months. Watching him move around and the pulsing of his heart on the screen, had me smiling from ear to ear. We were able to leave the appointment with a booklet full of photos and a video of the ultrasound to show friends and family.

bottom of page